RSS Feed

Long time no cook

Well I have been so busy the past few weeks I really did not have time to cook like I normally would. I was eating a ton of fast food which is so not good! Anyways I finally had time to cook, but I was low on groceries and funds. Time to get my creative juices flowing! I decided to make pork tacos, because I had some pork chops in the freezer and tortillas. I went to the store and got an avocado, an ear of corn, an onion, some tomatoes and cilantro for about $3. And it’s taco time!

I didn’t take pictures of the entire process and I am not too big on exact measurements, so if that’s what you need sorry!

Here is a rough ingredient list:

1 lime

1/2 onion

4 cloves garlic

1 ear of white corn

1/2 bunch cilantro

1 Roma tomato

1 avocado

2 lean pork chops, cubed

Corn tortillas

Butter

Chili powder

Red Pepper flakes

Salt

Pepper

Various toppings ( I only like cheese and a mix of onion and cilantro)

 

So the first thing I did was “roast” my corn. I love corn in my guacamole! So I butter up my corn (about 1 tbl) and put in about 4 cloves of garlic and about 1 tsp of chili powder in foil with my corn ( I love spicy too!). I wrap the corn and throw it in a preheated 400 degree oven.

Next I take my defrosted pork chops and season them. I like marinated meat, but I forget to do that. So I like to season it, and then make my meat last so it can soak up some flavor. Anyway, I season it with salt and pepper, juice of 1/2 a lime and some cilantro. I cover the meat and set it aside.

Now it is time for my guac. I empty the avocado flesh into a bowl, I chop up one tomato (small Roma),and about 1/4 of a large onion. I saute my onions just a little. I add in some chopped cilantro and the juice of another 1/2 of lime. My corn is now out of the oven and once it cools I take it off the cob and put it in my guac mix. (However, the corn can be left in as long or as short as you like, I like a little bit of crunch, so I have not left mine in too long, just enough to absorb the flavors). Now mix it all together and season with salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes to taste.

Heat a frying pan with oil. Put the cubed pork in and until cooked done.

Now load up your tacos! I also had spanish rice and black beans on the side. Yum!

Leave any questions or comments below! Happy eating!

Leave a Reply

