RSS Feed

Because 3 is better than 1

More is better. Almost always. I had such a great day I decided to cook and bake. This is usually hard for me because it requires double the focus, and attention to detail is not exactly my strong suit. But I was feeling ambitious. So for dinner I had Firecracker Chicken, a sweet and spicy Asian inspired dish. Then I made cinnamon rolls and sugar cookies that looked like candy corn! And candy corn is one of my favorite candies, so I couldn’t go wrong with cookies that look like my favorite candy!

So first the chicken. I LOVE spicy food, and this was SPICY! yum! It is so pretty with the spicy glaze once it comes out of the oven. Be advised that as the glaze dries, it hardens and is sticky! Here is the recipe (taken from ) http://www.melskitchencafe.com/2012/10/firecracker-chicken.html

*Serves 4-6

INGREDIENTS:
Chicken:
2-4 tablespoons canola oil
3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (about 2 pounds)
Salt and pepper
1 cup cornstarch
2 large eggs, beaten

Sauce:
1/3 cup hot sauce (like Frank’s brand for hot wings, for instance)
1 cup packed light brown sugar
1 tablespoon water
2 teaspoons apple cider vinegar
1/2 teaspoon salt

DIRECTIONS:
Preheat the oven to 325 degrees F.

Heat the oil in a large skillet over medium heat. While the oil is heating, cut the chicken breasts into 1-inch pieces. Season with salt and pepper. Place the cornstarch in a gallon-sized ziploc bag. Put the chicken into the bag with the cornstarch and seal, tossing to coat the chicken. Whisk the eggs together in a shallow pie plate. Dip the cornstarch-coated chicken pieces in the egg and place them carefully in a single layer in the hot skillet. Cook for 1-2 minutes and then flip each piece over to cook on the other side until nicely golden but not all the way cooked through. Place in a single layer in a 9X13-inch baking dish and repeat with the remaining chicken pieces.

Mix the sauce ingredients together in a medium bowl and pour over the chicken in the baking dish. Bake for one hour, turning the chicken once or twice while cooking to coat evenly with sauce. Serve over hot, steamed rice.

Then there were cinnamon rolls….In the interest of space I will just post the link to the recipe and the pictures I took. Also, I don’t use the frosting included with the recipe…I had some cream cheese frosting and I melted it so I could glaze my rolls. Just beware because these ARE delicious. Seriously delicious, especially if you steal one away right after they come out of the oven. http://www.pink-parsley.com/2009/09/cinnamon-roll-cupcakes.html

And last, candy corn. and cookies. Candy corn cookies. These are probably one the cutest and yet simplest cookies I have seen for Halloween. I mean simple, to get that great shape and all. And they are bite sized so don’t feel bad when you eat 2 or 3…or 5. Recipe:  http://kathiecooks.blogspot.com/2010/10/candy-corn-sugar-cookies.html

Here is the dough after I let it chill for 2 hours and turned it out of the loaf pan. I thought it was so cute that I couldn’t resist the pictures!

Here are my candy corn to be. How easy this is to just cut the dough into slices and the slices into rectangles! They look just like candy corn to me!

Done! So stinking cute!

Wrapped and ready to go!

Now go into your kitchen and start getting ready. I promise you these recipes are worth it…unless you hate cinnamon rolls and sugar cookies, and spicy things…then I promise that you can make them for some lucky person and they will love you because they will be in heaven eating this stuff. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

